Checked my credit score this morning.

Discussion in 'Getting Ahead: Careers, Finance and Productivity' started by blackbrah, Dec 17, 2014.

1. blackbrah

blackbrah Well-Known Member

Saw my credit score went up 35 points, putting me at 718...fuck yes. It was in the gutter a few months back (not in the gutter per sae) and now I'm back up.

Two of my creditors report it both at 718 but Equifax has it much higher, about 20-30 points higher IIRC.

A few years ago I had more debt from college and such and I have paid that off. I got a car payment that is a loan and also my CC so things are going well.

2. The Dark King

The Dark King Well-Known Member

Congrats

3. RRoyce55

RRoyce55 Active Member

I used to work in finance so I will give a few tidbits of advice that the average joe don't know:

credit score doesn't mean anything really. You can have an 800 score and still not get a car note without established history.

Proper history to avoid any and all credit issues:

Minimum 3 lines of credit need to be open, and kept current. My best advice for newbies is to have a credit line and maybe a couple charge cards. Use them ONCE A MONTH, and pay the shit off.

When you open student loans they tell you this, but you really need to take note. They can/will have an adverse affect on credit. Although they are technically LINES OF CREDIT, they help your credit standing in NO WAY, but can hurt you if you are late on payments. Example: you have 4 students loans and no other lines of credit in your history. You WILL need a co-signer on any "legitimate" auto loans. When I say legitimate, i mean those that don't jack your interest rate up to 21% with 1 missed payment (those that know, know what I'm talking about. The buy here / pay here scammers). I sold vehicles at one point people. I didn't last cause I actually have a heart.